OMOLOLA….MY BUDDY, MY FRIEND…AND NOW MY ANGEL IN HEAVEN

Image

As I seek His face asking Him to hold my hands into 2014, I just remembered my good friend Omolola Oluwatoyin Afolabi who died a few years ago on January 1 after a brief illness and I thought to say, I miss you. We were a pair, we were good together… continue to rest in peace.

Image

Omolola and I met on the queue as we were registering to enter the University of Abuja. I prayed to God to give me a good friend who will be closer than a sister according to His word and she was just God’s answer personified. She met all the criteria I asked for from God and I was elated as we hit it off immediately, in a few minutes we were talking like old cronies laughing and sharing gist.

Image

She introduced me to her mum and dad that same day as we stayed together in the same room, my cousin Hadizat allowed us stay in her room, not minding I brought a friend (lol), Hadizat is a dear too, and Lola and I became inseparable from then on. She was my confidante, my friend, my sister, my shrink, my doctor, my support and all. I didn’t do anything without consulting her, even when the school was on strike, we wrote each other letters and called on Nitel as there was no GSM then.

Image

I just wonder how it would be today that we have all sorts of communication-the blackberry, Viber, Facebook etc. LOL! We would have been more inseparable both on air and on land… lolol. She was just a friend you would love to have in your corner. She prayed with me, she fought for me, she fought with me as she scolded me when I am doing wrong, her family took me in, I was their sister, and daughter even up till now, her mum is still my mum and she is a wonderful mother, the best you can ever have.

Image

Omolola was too kind, generous, giving and she shared everything with me, from cloths, perfumes, advice, prayers, we sang together, we went to church together, we both talked to each other and joined a good school fellowship, we both talked and started going to church, we gave advice on boys and fiancés..Lolol… the comments and advice was so important to me as I know she was God-sent, an angel from God. Believe me when I say I do not know where I will be today if I didn’t meet her on that queue in school and subsequently didn’t meet her family.

Image

Her death was devastating to me as till date, I cry when I remember… Hmmm. It was like a dream. Omolola hated hospitals, so she never like going, but this time it was serious but when she eventually did, it was bad. On the first day of January that year, hubby took me out; we went visiting friends and later went to the movies and dinner. I had no idea they had called him to inform him earlier in the day. I called in the morning and was told she was much better talking and well. I promised to call later in the day to talk to her and when I did that evening, all my darling Wale her brother said to me was she is fine but where is my husband, I didn’t think anything was amiss till we got home and all hell broke loose! I was crying, wailing, screaming, shouting, I wanted to jump out of bed, my husband held me down as I wept just as I am doing now, it was a sad day back then.

Image

I am writing this now because this year was the only January 1 that I didn’t look back in sadness and cry. Rather I was nostalgic, I smiled as I remember our short life together, our sign languages that said a lot and only both of us understood, no one on earth has been able to do this with me again. She was a good one, an angel from God, lost too soon. Death reminds us all of our mortality. Losing a loved one like Omolola or my brother Ademola is especially tragic, traumatic and troubling. It is a pain you never get over for the rest of your life.

Image

Omolola, I miss you for you were a friend, for you loved me, you were there to look for me when I was lost, you held my hands when I was alone, a lot of nights I lay awake and thought, how sweet the world would be if you were still here with me, I know it could have been better if I had you right in front of me, I know you remember me as I remember you now in heaven and I know you are our angel watching over all your loved ones. I can understand now why God would want a beautiful angel like you in heaven to be by His side; just know that I love and miss you as always.

Image

Omolola, this is my tribute to you dear one.

 Image

Adieu!!!

Image

 

2 thoughts on “OMOLOLA….MY BUDDY, MY FRIEND…AND NOW MY ANGEL IN HEAVEN

  1. Only those who had the privilege of knowing Lola would attest that she was indeed the real deal…an angel. Its amazing that I never heard anyone say a bad word about her, never saw her embroiled in any ‘hostel drama’ so common @ Uni. She was special. This is a fitting tribute to a very special lady. A true representation of a sweet spirit…Lola!

Leave a Reply

