Medium, seer or prophet???

Image

‘The Spirit world is not happy you are here, they say the minute you got here they knew you will be delivered. Your childlessness is as a result of someone punishing you for past sins. On your part, you have offended enemies within, your husband’s part it is promises broken made to a jilted lover. Your husband’s maternal family also wants him childless,’ these were the words of Prophet X as narrated by Atinuke, a childhood friend.
She continued her narration, ‘when I entered the shack I said to myself, what would bring me here if not for the respect and love I have for my Aunt? She had been pestering me for months on end to see her prophet who can solve all problems. As I entered with my sassy dress and all, I was accosted by a rude ‘omo ijo’ (church member) to cover my head immediately or stand the risk of ejection. The look of disdain I gave him made him relax and leave him as I was getting ready to give him a few words of what I thought of him but stopped in my tracks when I saw my Aunt’s pleading eyes… I mellowed…lol. She said, ‘je ki a kujo mo nkan ti a ba wa’. Meaning let us face what brought us here.

Image
The prophet soon came out and after all pleasantries; he looked at me from head to toe. He looked at my Brazilian human hair, my makeup, my well manicured nails and my painted toe nails and immediately went into the spirit and said, ‘ for us to do this work effectively and successful I need to discard all foreign things from my body, meaning the hair, the makeup and the nail polish, no acrylic! He then went on to do some spiritual gimmicks (please watch Yoruba African magic or Yoruba plays on YouTube so you get what I mean). He started singing a song of victory he proclaimed he has seen the solution since his own prophecy work was different from others who will ask for money, he mentioned all he said above, about the spirit world he just travelled to and gave some Psalms to read in water, to be used to bath and drink and also white fasting (fast where you don’t take pepper or oil, I think) and to top it all go to a certain place called the mountain of deliverance, he said, ‘after doing all these, all perpetrators will be revealed to you and you will be delivered from their evil machinations.’

Atinuke stared into my eyes after narrating all that, in her eyes I saw a woman who was at some cross road, desperate and didn’t know what to believe anymore while also wondering if she could do it, she confessed she had done the fasting, and tried reading the psalms but got overwhelmed at reading about 10 psalms in each bucket of water her and her husband uses to bath and also every cup of water they drank as directed, so just decided to fast and pray. Why did she come to me today? Her aunt is on her neck to go to the ‘ori oke’ mountain of deliverance and she has come with justifications, asking me won’t it just be like going to redeemed camp to pray? I paused and I asked if you get there what are you to do? She said pray, get a man child to get you some holy water from the rock and drink, it is a place where even you and your husband cannot stand together but separately as women and men had both their sections. I then asked, if you go and get pregnant afterwards, on testimony day in your Pentecostal church, will you say, ‘Praise the Lord with me, I went to Ori-oke and got deliverance and this is my baby to show for it?

Image

She was silent, an awkward silence and I narrated another story to her story, I had been forced to go to such too and the woman prophet this time said what she saw was that I have been trying to get married for years and some forces where making this impossible for me, so I need to come for deliverance, stay in her church for 7 days, fasting none stop, they call it ‘awe biribiri’, and after that say yes to the first man I see when I get home, my friend who took me was mortified, full of shame, I smiled, to humor her I asked the woman, what if it was my married neighbor I saw? She said it means it is he God has chosen for me, and I will have to accept it. After grilling her for a while just to waste her time and also to make sure she had no way out; I told her I had been married four years! She was shocked, afraid and didn’t know what to say. I got up in disgust and left. You see, she has been doing this in the past and got away with it, so she thought obviously, since she is not wearing a ring (which I forgot to wear that day as matter of fact) she had seen new meat to slaughter, since she also told me her solution will cost me money but in the end I will come out victorious.

Image

What gives people around you the right to expose you to such spiritual entities in the name of helping out? What gives them the right to pressure you? How come you get pressured when you claim you are a child of God? What gives the so called prophets ability to see such visions (as some of them can be spot on), they tell you the story of your life and you marvel, this must be an oracle from God, remember the passage where Jesus said false prophets will arise in my name? When you let them in, they keep the power over your life, take the place of God and in no time you have silently been drawn to idolatry and spiritual adultery! You do not need anyone to tell you who you are in Christ! If your situation persists it is to glorify Himself not man. There was always a good reason in the bible for women who had delays. Hannah had delays just to birth a Prophet as powerful as Samuel, Elizabeth had delays just to birth a great fore runner as John, Rachel had delays and she birthed Joseph. BE PATIENT AND HOLD ON.
I will tell you what these prophets do, while some of them may mean no harm, some sow the anxiety seed into your life. In Atinuke’s case, she is in dilemma, to do or not to do, go or
do not go? Her husband is vehemently against it and she wants to go behind his back as the prophet says, it is the spirits hardening his heart against the solution. Atinuke’s blood pressure has hit the roof; she has lost sleep, worrying over nothing and uses sleeping tabs thinking of this issue. The non issue that Christ has given you victory for over thousands of years ago! All He wants from us is to hold on, fix our eyes on Him the Author and Finisher of our Faith!
What happens if I don’t do this ‘solution’? Absolutely nothing, for we are God’s children and have victory in Him alone. Do not let any prophet deceive you. Whose report will you believe? Read Deuteronomy 13:1-5 just see what it says here,
• ‘(1) If there arises among you a prophet or a dreamer of dreams, and he gives you a sign or a wonder, (2) and the sign or the wonder comes to pass, of which he spoke to you, saying, Let us go after other gods‟ – which you have not known – ,and let us serve them,(3) you shall not listen to the words of that prophet or that dreamer of dreams, for the Lord your God is testing you to know whether you love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul. (4) You shall walk after the Lord your God and fear Him, and keep His commandments and obey His voice; you shall serve Him and hold fast to Him. (5) But that prophet or that dreamer of dreams shall be put to death, because he has spoken in order to turn you away from the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt from the house of bondage, to entice you from the way in which the Lord your God commanded you to walk. So you shall put away the evil from your midst.

Don’t forget share the blog with friends, join in the conversation, share your stories and leave a word!

SELAH!

 

Leave a Reply

